Releasing the Weight

How long did it take you to lose the weight?  How did you do it?  What program did you use?  These are questions I get all the time.  Especially from folks who haven’t seen me for sometime. 

It was during one of these common exchanges I realized I paused in my response and said,  “I didn’t lose it, I let it go.”  It wasn’t until I started working a recovery program and joined a step study that I realized my weight was a physical manifestation of my emotional pain.  It took internal work and a lot of tears to let it go.

I also, seldom answer the question, “how long did it take you to lose it?”  (Primarily, not to discourage anyone.) Although, I frequently asked this question myself in my twenty years of struggling with weight issues, the question was always a desperate attempt on my part to get someone else’s quick fix.  I wanted it gone and I wanted it gone now.

My journey and timeline for losing weight are mine alone.  I have seen success in many folks, none which are exactly the same.  Everyone works at their own pace to let go of the “weights” (physical, sexual, emotional, etc…) holding them down.  The wonderful thing is that it can be done and the journey is worth the trip. 

Today’s Reality:  I will soon be sharing my ” inspirational story”  with my new friends in traffic school as I got a speeding ticket this morning.  Oy.   


Leave a Reply

